The Cellist of Sarajevo

…by Steven Galloway.  EXCELLENT book.  Svaka vam čast, Gospodine Galloway! 

     “This brilliant novel with universal resonance tells the story of three people trying to survive in a city rife with the extreme fear of desperate times, and of the sorrowing cellist who plays undaunted in their midst.

     “One day a shell lands in a bread line and kills twenty-two people as the cellist watches from a window in his flat.  He vows to sit in the hollow where the mortar fell and play Albinoni’s Adagio once a day for each of the twenty-two victims.  The Adagio had been re-created from a fragment after the only extant score was firebombed in the Dresden Music Library, but the fact that it had been rebuilt by a different composer into something new and worthwhile gives the cellist hope.”  Read more

3 responses to “The Cellist of Sarajevo

  1. I am going to have to run out and get myself a copy!

    I see you are doing well with Bosnian.

    I might make it out to ISNA this year too – let me know if you are sure you are going to go and I’ll do the same.

  2. Let me know what you think of the book!

    Well, I did have to cheat and consult word reference forums for the appropriate declension of the “vi!”

    I’ll know closer to mid-August whether I’ll be going or not. hope to see you!

  3. Pingback: Bookmarks about Shell

Leave a Reply

