Nasheeds from Bosnia

Hmm, I didn’t post for a month? Not too much going on right now. The grass has almost disappeared. There are beautiful roses everywhere. Getting ready for some mad parties in May.

I have, however, found some great videos on YouTube recently by some Bosnian nasheed artists, some of whom are also huffadh of the Qur’an (meaning they have memorized it). I’ve now gone into full-on armchair research mode, which is difficult since I don’t speak a word of Bosnian (Bosniak); I may need to get some help here (hint, hint). I love this song by Hfz. Aziz Alili, “Dosta mi je Allah moj” (God is enough for me). Plus I feel like I’m cool since I learned how to upload videos.

Here’s one by Hfz Burhan Saban. Also check out his and Aziz Alili’s Qur’an recitations; just search for them on YouTube.

This next group is called Hor Hazreti Hamza (“hor” means “choir”). From the little I know about them so far, they used to gather in a mosque in Sarajevo during the war to sing no matter what was going on outside. I’m trying to figure out how to get their CD’s. Evidently I just missed them in the US; they were on a tour that went through Atlanta. The really bad thing is that I found out AFTER the fact, so now I get to complain afterwards like a big loser instead of complaining about it before it happened! Enjoy:

Last but not least, check out this beautiful Naqshbandi song about Ramadan, posted up on Abdur Rahman’s Corner.   Also one up on Samaha’s blog complete with translation.

7 responses to “Nasheeds from Bosnia

  1. awwwwwwwww! This is awesome. I think I mispell Ilahije on my blog often – do a search “Ilahija” and you should come up with quite a lot of them.

  2. also search “arabeske”

  3. Thanks; I’ll try that! Do you know where I can find more information in English on Bosnian music?

  4. I didn’t have much luck finding any information in English but I’ve sent out an email that I’m hoping will get some answers.

  5. Thanks! If I really want to learn about it I should really learn Bosniak anyways.

  6. Pingback: Hamza of MacBeth “Dosta Mi Je Allah Moj” « Samaha

  7. Pingback: Hamza of MacBeth “Dosta Mi Je Allah Moj” « Samaha

Leave a comment