Anyone for some Chinese and Japanese poetry?

From this site:

blog-orientalgallery-chinese-paintings-0006.jpg

A DREAM AT NIGHT

(Mei Yao Ch’en)

In broad daylight I dream I
Am with her. At night I dream
She is still at my side. She
Carries her kit of colored
Threads. I see her image bent
Over her bag of silks. She
Mends and alters my clothes and
Worries for fear I might look
Worn and ragged. Dead, she watches
Over my life. Her constant
Memory draws me towards death.

(Narihira)

I have always known
That at last I would
Take this road, but yesterday
I did not know that it would be today.

(Ki No Tsurayuki)

Out in the marsh reeds
A bird cries out in sorrow,
As though it had recalled
Something better forgotten.

(Yosano Akiko)

Not speaking of the way,
Not thinking of what comes after,
Not questioning name or fame,
Here, loving love,
You and I look at each other.

From this site:

(Lady Izumi Shikibu)

I picked an azalea
And brought it home.
Now when I contemplate it,
In its crimson dye
I see the color
Of my lover’s robe.

One response to “Anyone for some Chinese and Japanese poetry?

  1. Really amazing and beautiful🙂 The Narihira poem I have read before, a perfect one for the Sufi path.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

