Sexist Advertising, Lemon Curd, and Biscuits

So I opened up the hall cabinet and noticed that on the box the iron came in is a silhouette of a woman standing with her ankles crossed, one hand on her hip (a pretty provocative pose for a red silhouette), the other hand holding a pile of laundry, presumably freshly washed, ironed, and folded, and she’s wearing this mini Mini MINI skirt!  What’s up with that?  Anyways, it’s a French iron, so don’t blame the Jordanians.

I can’t find lemon curd here.  So I decided to make some.  I used this recipe.  It was really good!  The only problem is, it doesn’t go well with khubz taboun (the local flatbread everyone eats).   I would really love some buttermilk biscuits with it.  Does anyone have a good recipe?  Especially one that doesn’t require “cutting the butter into the flour until it resembles course crumbs?”  I’ve never really mastered that technique.  Which probably means I should just practice, but I’m feeling lazy.  I’d be willing to try it, though, if anyone has a recipe that is really, really good!

5 responses to “Sexist Advertising, Lemon Curd, and Biscuits

  1. A friend of mine once told me “The joy is in the journey”. I scowl at him–mainly because I can be lazy and I might have passed a bit of it on to my daughter.
    “cut” on.

  2. you’ve found buttermilk in amman? where?!?

    i’ve got a simple recipe for drop biscuits that is pretty good, but you’ve got to “cut the butter”:

    2 cu flour
    1 tsp sugar
    1/2 tsp salt
    2 tsp baking powder
    1 tbsp butter
    1 cu milk

    1. mix and sift dry ingredients 4 times
    2. cut and rub the butter, mix with the cold milk, beat vigorously for 1 minute
    3. drop by tablespoons into hart iron gem pans, bake 10 min in quick oven
    (from lovetoknow recipes)

  3. Dad: Yeah, I’ll probably end up doing that since those recipes look like good ones.

    UmmSanaa: I think it’s called Shaneineh, we got it by accident once thinking it was milk!

  4. salam alaikoum
    The French will post a leg or a boob for everything in advertising, once i saw a yogurt commercial with a topless woman. *sigh*

  5. islandgirlphotos

    I suppose that cutting butter into the flour originated from using two knives to process the mixture. However, I find that the whole thing goes much better if you just use your hands. You’ll basically be working your fingers through the flour and butter as if you were trying to sprinkle/crumble it you know? Rubbing until you get something that really does resemble oatmeal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

