Here in Jordan

Well, here I am in Kharabsheh, Amman, Jordan. I’ve been here a week with no internet and no phone. Hopefully we’ll get a phone soon. The flight was fine; I took Dave Lebovitz’ advice and took an Excedrin PM, since I don’t sleep well on planes. Alhamdulillah (praise God), I slept like the stereotypical-but-not-very-true-to-life baby.

So far I like Amman. Kharabsheh, I’ll have to decide once I’ve met some people. Evidently I arrived in the middle of a heat wave; last Friday was about 42 Celsius which I believe is 107 Fahrenheit. It seems to be over now, and the weather is rather pleasant.

I’ve been able to study here very well, maybe even better than I could at home. For those of you that don’t know, I was almost done with my Masters thesis and wanted to come here after defending it, but my advisers were not able to do it during the summer, so I decided to just come here, finish it, and return to defend it and take my MA exam in the fall.

I should be able to meet more people once I get a job. There’s one place nearby, which will remain nameless for now, that might hire me; I should know sometime soon. If not, there’s another place with a big name (don’t know if they pay big bucks or not though) that may hire me. They’re further away though.

There are lots of cats here, and some chickens in the neighbourhood. I hear the roosters in the morning. It’s nice to hear the call to prayer, and I don’t have to bother to print out the prayer times each month.

The cheese is pretty nice here, which is good because I love cheese. Evidently many Jordanians cook only once a week here, and eat the leftovers for the rest of the week, along with bread and cheese. A tradition I can wholeheartedly embrace.

Oh yeah, and our doorbell sounds like a bird!

That’s about it for now. Look for a musician spotlight on Haero Dizaye sometime next week insha’Allah.

8 responses to “Here in Jordan

  1. salaam alaikom
    I am sooooo glad to hear you made it and are having a nice time. I think you need to rename your blog ‘the Jordanian adventures of musicalchef’
    I bet BG had something to do with that doorbell..he did seem kinda sneaky.

  2. Alhamdulillah, that you ae safe and makng progress on a job and your MA. And if your doorbell sounds like a bird, you know you’re in the right place🙂

    Ya Haqq!

  3. as-salaamu alaykum

    Alhamdulillah you made it and it was great meeting you.Hope you enjoyed yourself🙂
    Take care and I’ll see you around K-town😉

    salaams
    L🙂

  4. Salam Sister, and welcome to Amman.

    I should be back there at the end of this month, inshaAllah. Hope to get to meet you. Perhaps we could do some cooking!

  5. Salaam;

    I am also moving to Jordan soon; unfortunately it probably won’t be K’town although I was lobbied pretty hard.😉 My husband found a job but it’s located outside of Amman and he wants to live as near to it as possible while still living in Amman. Insha’Allah maybe one day we will meet — one of my dearest friends currently lives in K’town and I hope to be there as much as possible.🙂

  6. Salaam ‘Alaikum

    Enjoy your stay in K-Town. As I’m sure you’ve learned by now, you look beyond the physical surroundings. The magic of that neighborhood is in the friends you’ll make.

    I know two of your commenters. One of them is one of my dearest friends.

  7. non-Jordaners: Thanks for visiting, and I’m sure BG’s in on the doorbell thing somehow! Probably trying to make me feel guilty every time it rings.

    Jordaners: Glad to meet one of you! Hope to meet the rest of you soon!

  8. ooo I want to meet you. Our doorbell sounds like a bird too….
    If you want, leave me your Email in a comment box and since it is moderated I won’t let it go through but I’ll Email you and we’ll meet up insha’Allah🙂

Leave a Reply

