Gelatin in Peanuts

It’s true.  Planters uses gelatin in their dry-roasted peanuts.  I first read this in my new favorite magazine, Vegetarian Times.  Evidently it helps the spices adhere to the nuts.  I’m not sure if it’s from meat or not, but most products using gelatin use meat-derived gelatin.  By the way, the “K” on products does not mean that there is no pork, as they allow for trace amounts of it.

Publix brand dry-roasted peanuts, as well as the generic brand carried by Winn-Dixie, do not contain gelatin.  I always got the Publix brand anyways because they have a “lightly salted” option, instead of just “salted” (meaning sodium attack salty), and “unsalted.”

So keep that in mind if you want to make the recipe found a couple posts down and want to keep it gelatin-free.

7 responses to “Gelatin in Peanuts

  1. Thanks, that’s really good to know🙂

  2. You know I found that out because I wanted to see if it had MSG or something crazy like that on Dry roasted nut. I was really SHOCKED to see it had gelatin! I mean I am sure people in the store thought I was crazy because I made such a big deal.
    But the slighty salted version didnt have it so I was happy

  3. Homer: Wait a minute, wait a minute, wait a minute. Lisa, honey, are you saying you’re never going to eat any animal again? What about bacon?

    Lisa: No.

    Homer: Ham?

    Lisa: No.

    Homer: Pork chops?

    Lisa Simpson: Dad! Those all come from the same animal!

    Homer: [Chuckles] Yeah, right Lisa. A wonderful, magical animal.

  4. Baji
    The clip

  5. Haha at the Homer reference!

    We could probably call them. Like I said, I don’t usually buy Planters anyways, but I’m sure if someone wants to call, they would tell you where they get the gelatin.

  6. OH NO! This can’t be true. I love planters peanuts! It must be pork derived gelatin otherwise it would say bovine gelatin specifically. some products contain a combo of pork, fish bone, and bovine. but a drop of the pork makes it HARAAAAAAAAAAM

    I guess I’ll have to go for the less tasty local peanuts.

    Thanks for this info.

  7. Balboos HaGadol

    FYI: The ‘K’ kosher symbol is a public-domain symbol and is used somewhat recklessly. Not reliable for vegetarian or people who keep kosher, either!
    The (U), (K), CRC, and other orthodox supervised products do not allow for even a trace of ‘pork’ if it is put in intentionally.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s